Wk2 – Activity – Plaster Casting

This was definitely a new experience for me. I went down to Seal Beach with my roommate, who is an illustration major, and made a casting of my left hand. It was something that I had never done before and was confused when I first started the process, luckily my roommate was there to help. I got a little too excited when I got to dig a hole and ended up having to put more sand back in because I made it too deep. After I made my mold and put the plaster in we had to sit and wait for 20 minutes. During that time I was able to relax and talk to my roommate. We sat and enjoyed each others company and talked about our first weeks of school. The process of waiting for the mold forced us to slow down and actually enjoy the day instead of rushing to our next activity. Once it was time to take the mold out I was so nervous because I didn’t want to break off any of the fingers. I did end up breaking off the thumb of the hand, but then I realized that even though my mold was missing a finger it was still the coolest thing I had ever made. I’m not a big art person; however, I was finally able to do something creative and I was extremely proud of it. Although this project didn’t take an extreme amount of artistic skills, it still encouraged me to believe that I can do these art projects! I can’t wait to see what I can do on the next projects.

Making the mold for my hand.
Making the mold for my hand.
Me with my hand.
Me with my hand.
My hand missing the thumb.
My hand missing the thumb.
Leave a Reply

